© Combe Mill Society 2015
Registered Charity Number 1111029
…….a place to discover
During the First World War
We continue to explore the part that Combe Mill played during the First World War and how the war affected the lives of the workers and their families.
The Mill was commandeered by the War Office for the manufacture of pit props and duck boards for use in the front line trenches.
Because the beam engine has failed in 1912, power to drive the woodworking machinery was derived from portable steam engines that was parked in the yard and connected to the line shafting.
Students of Oxford Brooks University have researched the lives of some of the Mill workers and you can view their findings by clicking here.
1086 Recorded in Domesday Book
1611 Flour mill owned by Johnson family
1766 Sold to 4th Duke of Marlborough
1850s Mill rebuilt to make workshops, sawmill and forge for the estate
1886 Front extended and new steam beam engine and Cornish boiler installed
1912 Beam Engine stopped working
1950s Electricity arrived and water power was redundant
Late 1960s Beam engine ‘re-discovered’ and volunteers restore it to working order over next years
1975 First public steaming of beam engine : Head race had been filled in by now. Combe Mill Society formed
2000 Working sawmill closes
2003 Mill listed Grade II* by English Heritage to protect contents
2010 Mill leased from Blenheim by Combe Mill Society
2012 Mill re-opens as a working industrial museum after Heritage Lottery funded conservation and improvement project.
|Beam Engine Experience|
|School Activity Choices and Booking Form|
|Risk Assessment Advice|
|School Feedback Questionnaire|
|Learning Resource Downloads|
|Learning Resources 1|
|Learning Resources 2|
|Learning Resources 3|
|Learning Resources 4|
|Learning Resources 5|